Category: Uncategorized

NMR videos on YouTube

An interesting playlist of videos compiled by Journal of Magnetic Resonance where authors talk about their landmark articles published in JMR.

YouTube Link is here.

Academic Spam!!

Hi Folks,

Today, I received the following email on my current academic email ID:

Dear Dr. Jeetender Chugh,

I am writing on behalf of an international publishing house, LAP Lambert Academic Publishing.

In the course of a research on the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, I came across a reference to your thesis on “NMR in Proteomics: Investigations on Large Protein Assemblies and Method Developments”.
We are an international publisher whose aim is to make academic research available to a wider audience.
LAP would be especially interested in publishing your dissertation in the form of a printed book.

Your reply including an e-mail address to which I can send an e-mail with further information in an attachment
will be greatly appreciated.

I am looking forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,
Tatiana Costandachi
Acquisition Editor

LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing AG & Co. KG
Saarbrücken
Dudweiler Landstraße 99, 66123 Saarbrücken Germany

Fon +49 681 3720-310
Fax +49 681 3720-3109

t.costandachi(at)lappublishing.com / www.lappublishing.com

Handelsregister Amtsgericht Saarbrücken HRA 10752
Partner with unlimited liability:
VDM Verwaltung Aktiengesellschaft

Board of Directors: Dr. Wolfgang Müller (CEO), Christoph Schulligen, Esther von Krosigk

Supervisory Board: Prof. Dr. Johannes G. Bischoff (Chairman), RA Thomas Bischoff, RA André Gottschalk

A pretty impressive letter, and a very sophisticated spammer. They managed to dig out my Institute name and my thesis title correctly and then emailed me on my current academic email address, hmmm. I immediately checked on google, and found several blogs mentioning the receipt of similar letters. Cool thing is, if you search their website, you will find one (which can be made by spending a couple of hundred dollars easily). So, if you respond to the email, you will be asked to send your “Bank Account Details” for the so-called annual royalty deposits. Interestingly, they mention this on their FAQ page that it is OK to send them the account details as it is a very common process in Germany. I also believe that its more than just sending your account details, as they mention that you can just open a brand new account specially for this purpose and then send those details, which sounds quite safe. Is it possible that they can play with your thesis/paper (once they have all doc files)? I am confused.