Academic Spam!!
Hi Folks,
Today, I received the following email on my current academic email ID:
Dear Dr. Jeetender Chugh,
I am writing on behalf of an international publishing house, LAP Lambert Academic Publishing.
In the course of a research on the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, I came across a reference to your thesis on “NMR in Proteomics: Investigations on Large Protein Assemblies and Method Developments”.
We are an international publisher whose aim is to make academic research available to a wider audience.
LAP would be especially interested in publishing your dissertation in the form of a printed book.
Your reply including an e-mail address to which I can send an e-mail with further information in an attachment
will be greatly appreciated.
I am looking forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,
Tatiana Costandachi
Acquisition Editor
LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing AG & Co. KG
Saarbrücken
Dudweiler Landstraße 99, 66123 Saarbrücken Germany
Fon +49 681 3720-310
Fax +49 681 3720-3109
t.costandachi(at)lappublishing.com / www.lappublishing.com
Handelsregister Amtsgericht Saarbrücken HRA 10752
Partner with unlimited liability:
VDM Verwaltung Aktiengesellschaft
Board of Directors: Dr. Wolfgang Müller (CEO), Christoph Schulligen, Esther von Krosigk
Supervisory Board: Prof. Dr. Johannes G. Bischoff (Chairman), RA Thomas Bischoff, RA André Gottschalk
Jeetender,
I am surprised!! how they got your thesis title and institute name.
I don’t have any idea about this. I am hearing this for the first time.
Anyways, take right steps
Hi,
I’m a German food blogger and I know some of my “colleagues” received similar e-mails from other service agencies. Somehow this is indeed getting common in Germany or German-speaking countries to trick Internet users this way. Look for blog entries on the Paperblog issue, if you like.
I don’t suggest to make use of this “offer”. Your thesis topic should be much to special for these people, I think. They’re just eager to gain other data from you (your address or maybe your bank account details).
Regards,
H.
Hello Chugh
Yesterday, I received the exact email on my academic email as you had received. they had indicated the name of my thesis and my university. I don’t if I can trust them.
Dear Jeetender,
Today I have received the similar email you have mentioned above and was a bit surprised. I immediately searched in the internet with the sender’s name and found your posting. I would like to know what step you took with the thesis publishing proposal, and what the outcome was. I would appreciate any advice you can provide on this.
Thanks,
Indranil Saha.
Thanks Jeetender to report about this academic spam… Here is the spam mail that I recieved from LAP !!!…
I am writing on behalf of an international publishing house, LAP Lambert Academic Publishing.
In the course of a research on the Nanyang Technological University, I came across a reference to your thesis on “Electrostatically driven resonator working at 10 Mhz”.
We are an international publisher whose aim is to make academic research available to a wider audience.
LAP would be especially interested in publishing your dissertation in the form of a printed book.
Your reply including an e-mail address to which I can send an e-mail with further information in an attachment
will be greatly appreciated.
I am looking forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,
Tatiana Costandachi
Acquisition Editor
LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing GmbH & Co. KG
Address: Dudweiler Landstraße 99
66123 Saarbrücken Germany
Fon +49 681 3720-310
Fax +49 681 3720-3109
t.costandachi(at)lappublishing.com / http://www.lappublishing.com
Handelsregister Amtsgericht Saarbrücken HRA 10752
General unlimited partner:VDM Management GmbH
Managing directors: Thorsten Ohm (CEO), Dr. Wolfgang Philipp Müller, Esther von Krosigk, Christoph Schulligen
Today I received exactly the same email, which looks quite professional. I am wondering if any of you, or anyone you know, published her/his thesis with this company.
Thanks,
Sergio